Back in the ER Tuesday morning….

Nick managed to walk out to the car on his own. Which was amazing considering how poorly he slept – sitting upright (which was basically not at all).

It’s so hard not to drive like a maniac when your man is sitting next to you, groaning and gasping in pain. You have to drive carefully as every bump and lane change makes him cry out. I called ahead to the ER to make sure someone would be there to help me get him out of the car…..”yup, someone will be around.”

No one was around.

I had to go search for someone. I was in tears already….that didn’t help.

They put Nick in one of the ER rooms and a doctor came in. Forgive me but I forget his name. He put us at ease immediately, got Nick on some pain meds and then the talking began….What happened, how are you, are the pain meds kicking in…..and suddenly in walks Nick’s wonderful surgeon, Dr. Joe.

“Are you trying to steal my patient??” and back and forth they went with the good natured banter. It was nice to smile after 12 hours of panic.

Dr. Joe looked at Nick and said “I wanted to run a camera down into your stomach to look for that old blood in 6 weeks. How ’bout if we put you in the hospital, run the camera down now, and we can monitor this pain for 24 hours?”

Nick agreed almost before Dr. Joe stopped talking.

By 3pm the procedure was done, he was headed back to his room, and the camera doc had already told me he had found a tumor near where the stomach empties into the small intestine, it was most likely cancer, and that it had been there a while.

I do wish that doc had had a bit more tact. It was like it was a race for him to tell me it was cancer before the biopsy results even came back. He just had this attitude that he had to be first. No compassion , no I’m sorry to tell you, no hand on my arm to comfort me.

So when Nick got back to his room…..He asked. I told him. And we sat there stunned for a long time………………………..

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Back in the ER Tuesday morning….

  1. fredrieka says:

    Sue you are in my prayers, I have been through this with my mom, my dad had mesothelioma, the constant fear, and rushing to their bedside. SO So very sorry

    Liked by 1 person

  2. There it is that dreaded C word which can change your life and attitude in a split second.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

