Friday…..

From my archives:
Day of surgery….(Thursday Oct 23rd)
Okay. I can breathe again. Nick came through surgery very well. When Doc Joe  met me in the consultation room….he was smiling. He thinks he got it all. And it doesn’t look like it went into the pancreas.
Nick is in a lot of pain. And that is just killing me. But he is hooked up to some good drugs and as long as I push that button every 10 min, he’s making it through each hour. My heart felt thanks and appreciation to all of you. We have amazing families and friends. I cannot truly express my gratitude to you all for helping me keep my sanity…. It’s hard to talk on the phone when we are letting him sleep as much as possible. It is the best medicine right now. Keep your fingers crossed and those prayers coming that the lymph nodes biopsies come back clear….
One day after surgery: (Friday Oct 24th)
He is up and walking! And his voice is stronger and his pain is less and he is flirting with the nurses and denying it! *facepalms * He will be okay.
Nick still has a long long row to hoe…but at least we are on the upswing and he is feeling MUCH better. Coughing puts him back up to the pain level of 10. But he must cough or end up with pneumonia. I stayed there last night. Got about 3 hours of sleep. Man you can NOT sleep in a hospital!!
He had like 5 sets of tubes running out of him.(It was actually 7) He is down to the IV and the stomach drain. And that may come out tomorrow…..Each one being taken off him is one more thing closer to going home. And he can’t wait to get home to his own bed. He’s feeling more up to company every day. He’s kind of overwhelmed with all the well wishes. He says Thank you…..and goes speechless. Thank you all who have been SO supportive thru all of this. We are FAR from done but with your love and prayers, the road will be a bit easier.  Thank you.
* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *
I remember staying there that night. I got like NO sleep. My cot was as bad as his bed. A 1″ mattress and no cover to stay warm, no quiet, construction workers outside the window JACK HAMMERING on the roof before 7am. And I recall seeing flames………I did not want to know what they were doing.
I remember him sleeping sitting upright with his legs hanging off the side of the bed. Trying ANY position to get some comfort. I remember him constantly crying out in pain any time he moved.
And feeling so completely helpless to comfort him. I couldn’t hold him, I couldn’t crawl in the bed with him. All I could do was lay my head on his lap……..and cry.
Matteo had made friends with some amazing people at school. Linus is from Germany and 6’5″ of nothing but friend and fun. I’m so thankful for him and I miss him so. He could always make me smile and gave great hugs too. One day I hope to see him again too.  Matteo could stay with him any time I needed. That was so wonderful and one less thing for me to stress about…I knew he was with friends who cared, too.
I went home Saturday night. I really needed some rest too, so I could be there for Nick….
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Friday…..

  1. There were so many times when Rich was admitted that I couldn’t stay even if I’d wanted to. Rest doesn’t come in a hospital room … ever!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Boo says:

    They asked me if I wanted to because Nick asked if I could. It calmed him somewhat. Or else he was looking for someone he could bitch at that wouldn’t leave. *snortz*

    Like

  3. Rich flirted with the nurses when he was able to. Men.

    Like

Leave a Reply

