My baby let me down….

FocusFor the FIRST time ever. In 5 1/2 years, she’s always been reliable….

I love my car.  She’s a 5 speed 2.3L with a shit and git motor. 183K miles and still acts like a spring chicken.

Yesterday….I had to go to one of our banks and close an account. On the way there, my battery light came on.

I thought this odd.

On the way back to work and all the way home, it didn’t come on again. I also noticed that she idled at a higher RPM than usual.

I told Nick about it on the way home. It’s a warning, he says.

When he started the car this morning, the light came on for him too. He then tells me it’s a warning I have MAYBE a month to get a new alternator installed.

Ok, no problem. When I get to work, I’ll start calling around for one.

I take off this morning…..I get 8 miles…..ALL MY GAUGES AND LIGHTS SHUT OFF!! And the heat…………..(oh crap….) But the car keeps running (Good GIRL!!)

I call Nick….he says to limp it to work, being careful at stoplights as she may kill. (Great)

I got 18 miles down the road and the car dies. The little red LOCKING light is FLASHING FURIOUSLY……But at least I got up the off ramp and could brake to a stop. I called Nick again.

It’s dead. Shut off. Nothing. Nada…..KaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaPUT.

Ok, I’ll throw a couple batteries in the van and be there soon.

35 minutes later………he arrives. I called our friend John to come help him. He arrived about 5 minutes before Nick did with a WARM CAR. I was froze. I jump in his car while he goes and gets the almost new battery out so Nick can put a charged one in and limp my baby home.

So now tonight, we’ll be putting an alternator in my car instead of visiting with Corvin.

*sigh*

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Me. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to My baby let me down….

  1. Val Ewing says:

    My old Subaru did that to me twice…The warning lights came on and when I got home I looked up what that meant. Alternator! The second time it happened, it was about this time of year and I went YUP thar she goes!
    My Cav never did anything like that but when it died, it seriously died an awful death. But that was after 210K miles and another owner.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. fredrieka says:

    darn but now you should get many more miles out of her right?

    Like

  3. Tom says:

    Sorry about about the car, Glad Nick was there. But if you were cold, did you wear a winter jacket ? Make sure to never be stuck like that in the cold without a least a blanket.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Boo says:

    I, of course darlin’, was wearing a winter coat. I also have a pillow and a blanket in my car. The temp was 0°…….and chucking filly…..My heat had left me 10 miles earlier………

    Like

Leave a Reply

