Tis so surreal….

nick

We had a guy stop in last night. I bring parts home for him so it saves him 60 miles of driving and time. No big deal. I tell a lot of customers up my way that I will get their stuff to my house. They can pick it up there. 2-10 miles compared to 60-80 round trip? It’s a deal! I now get my septic pumped for free for all the stuff I’ve brought home for THAT guy. Last night’s guy hauls semi loads of wood. I’m hoping one day for a nice dry big oak log. Most people want money. I want wood.

Anyway…back to the surreal part of his dropping by to pick up his parts.

Rick had heard what was going on with Nick. Last night, Rick asked him

“So what’s going on then?”

Nick said “They gave me 10-12 months.”

Just like that.

So matter of fact like that I just stood there. And tried to breathe……It was difficult but I did it…

For some reason it keeps playing in my head that this chapter of our life together will be over soon and we can go back to the way we were. Even as I see him continue to waste away. Get thinner and thinner. Being able to eat less and less. Being able to do less and less.

My meat and potatoes man….cannot stand the taste, smell, vision of meat anymore. He loves the potatoes and gravy, but meat………keep it away.

My brilliant mechanic……can’t work for 14 hours on our cars anymore. He tried yesterday. He’s paying for it today. We talked last night of the 428 going in the Mach and that won’t work. We talked of the ’52 Capri, the Ranchero and what he wants to do with each and every one of them. How the Falcon has to get done to go to Nationals this year since it’s RIGHT HERE IN BARABOO! 90 miles from us. We can’t NOT go!! I love how our car club is rallying around and doing what they can to get our Fusion done and the Falcon ready.

He can no longer do it alone. And to me that is heartbreaking.

maggie-and-trophy-low-shot.JPG

I have this because of him. My baby that raised SO much money for Operation Homefront. My baby that raised lots of money for a battered women’s shelter.

Our collection is varied and larger than some, smaller than others, but they are ours. I have no idea what I’ll do with most of them when he’s gone.

But this one:

nicks-truck-with-stencil-1

Watch Lee Brice’s Video….
I drive your truck.

And you’ll know why I’m keeping this one.

This entry was posted in Me. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Tis so surreal….

  1. fredrieka says:

    Oh I love that song.. heart wrenching

    Liked by 1 person

  2. joliesattic says:

    Sounds like you got yourself a good man. I like mine too. You notice I say “like” because it’s almost better than “love”, though I love him too. He can’t do anything, I mean stuff like fix cars or build anything, but he’s a good man. I finally got a good man in my life and I’d sure hate for anything to happen to him.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Val Ewing says:

    I don’t know what to say except that I know that what both of us have been through in the past two years, …it makes us look at appreciating our ‘guys’ more and not ever taking them for granted. I know that I used to grip and groan about so many things. I have since stopped and learned to appreciate every moment we have. Cancer has taught me never to take a day for granted.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

