This was a good but busy weekend…..

My oldest grandson turned 16 in June. He got his license on 7/7. So for his birthday present, he got to drive Papa’s truck with Papa. Omg the kid was over the moon smiling! He was so happy he didn’t kill the truck trying to drive this manual transmission. He is used to automatics.

Cullan Papa Truck up close

Yeah….he’s a lot taller than Papa. And bigger. And he loves his Papa to pieces.

Cullan Papa Truck walking back

He decided he wanted to go on the 16th annual Mustang Run this year. “Do I get to drive the Mustang Gramma?” We’ll see, luv. We’ll see.”

JoAnn (coordinator) always does a little speech about people who are on the run for more than a few years. We get to know each other…….

Anyway…..She started this story “There are a couple people here, who, after COURTING for 20 years, decided to finally marry. (She also knows the cancer part but didn’t mention it.) Are there any people here like that?? Raise your hands?”…Nick LOOKED at me! I smiled and got up. This beautiful flower arrangement was for us. The colors are so VIVID!!

That is my handsome long haired grandson I love to bits and back.

Cullan behind my flowers

And of course he got to drive Gramma’s Mustang from Rushford to Winona. He was pretty pumped. And did a perfect job.

Cullan driving my Mustang

My friend from Maine sent me some books a while back. I read them. Didn’t LIKE reading them but I really do need to know what to expect. Hospice gave Nick a copy of one of them. Funny how the title flies outta my head right now but the information is staying there.

Nick is starting to show some of the signs under the Days to 2 weeks period. This is distressing me. It’s getting scary now.

We had a good, low key weekend. A few visitors before we left for Aubree, Brandon and Cullan’s birthday parties at the Haven. Cullan and Papa took the truck for a drive, we had a simple hotdog for supper, then headed home. Nick took a nap. We watched a documentary on …..oh…man. I have to start writing more stuff down! But it was a good ‘un!! I’ll think of it yet….

Sunday was the Mustang Run. He did OK. He is glad he went. He doesn’t want to miss out on things. And yet they wear him out.

So when we got home, Nick slept almost the whole time before bed. And he slept with his eyes mostly open, so I wondered if he WAS sleeping……till he started snoring. The book mentions this as well as the labored breathing.

Today Nick has another surprise a friend and I planned. He doesn’t know he’s gonna get to meet Jack Rousch today. *look him up* Daughter Meg will be picking him up and driving him there. He doesn’t even know she and the boys are taking him. He loves spending time with her and the kids.

He’ll be so happy.

And totally worn out when I get home.

I can’t wait to hear him….

This entry was posted in Me. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to This was a good but busy weekend…..

  1. fredrieka says:

    How awesome ! !!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ronda says:

    Can’t wait to see how the day goes! Glad you had a nice weekend! ❀

    Liked by 1 person

  3. joliesattic says:

    Sounds like a memory weekend. Yea! If you don’t hear from me, don’t despair, I’ve got a houseful for the next two weeks. Lot’s of birthdays, I turn 70, my sister and brother in law turn 60, my baby brother turns 50, My other brother turns 67, my son turns 34, and my other brother turns 58, all within a few days of one another. So, we’re having lot’s of company and a “small” bash. Wish me luck, since it’s here at my place.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Every moment is precious and you are making each one count.πŸ’œπŸ’œπŸ’œ

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Val Ewing says:

    You are doing the right thing in so many ways. You are making the rest of his life full of wonder and memories. These you can hang on to for a long time. Hugs.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

