He doesn’t beg…(updated)

…..for me to stay home with him anymore.Nick 71716.jpg

I’m hoping it’s because he know I can’t instead of his being at the stage where he’s turning inward. I will be able to later. Too bad I have to wait till there’s no quality time left.

I just talked to him on the phone a few minutes back. He has the dry heaves and some blood came up.

This cannot be a good thing. Hospice is coming. He may be going to BRF Hospital. Will keep y’all informed. Just because this is where I let it out.

And so it begins………………..?

Update: Hospice came to the house. Sternly told him he NEEDS to take his anti nausea meds along with his other meds to stop the upset stomachs.

He threw up a bit and there was blood in it. He sounds awful on the phone. This tells ME that there is more to it than just nausea. Or it tells me he’s been throwing up more than he’s told me.

I also found out he did NOT tell them how bad the pain was Friday night and Sunday night. He won’t take the liquid morphine till morning. We had to use it several times extra this weekend. In talking with Hospice I found out that he can take it every HOUR if he needs. Not ‘just as needed’ which to him is every 12 hours. They are also doubling that for him so it helps more.

The meds thing will change. I will be making out a list, counting the pills, he will need to mark off when he takes them. No sense in this. He needs to be better at pain management. The bottle says every 12 hours, that’s when he takes it. Hospice told him to take every 8 hours. But because the bottle says 12, that’s what he remembers. And his fear of getting addicted……it was explained to him, yet he clings to HIS idea.

Why am I not in a room with padded wall paper……..?

This entry was posted in Me. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to He doesn’t beg…(updated)

  1. Val Ewing says:

    BRF? as in Black River?
    It is so hard to know what is going on internally. Sometimes our guys won’t really tell us what they need/want.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. fredrieka says:

    This is the difficult part. When I tried to give my mom Ativan, there was no liquid form. She would take it out of her mouth and throw it across the room. I then had to crush it, put a couple of drops of water, put it in her mouth. Morphin should be taken at least every 8 hours. It will help not only his pain but other issues. I have walked through this 3 times with people I love. My grandmother, My father, My mother and then my mother in law. Notice I said 3 that I love LOL

    Liked by 1 person

    • Boo says:

      He doesn’t want to ‘live on pills’…and that’s what he’s doing. Yesterday he had some Breakfast Essentials. Just a bit before he lost it all. Then a couple bites of my yogurt, and a half cup vanilla ice cream with strawberries. The pills take up too much room in what’s left of his stomach.

      Liked by 1 person

      • fredrieka says:

        It hard to encourage him to take his meds but it has been my experience they help with quality of life. Morphine is used not only for pain but also to regulate the heart. Oxygen levels. Find out from your Hospice nurse other pro’s for the meds he is on. It may help him to understand the benefits. Not wanting to live on drugs if you are healthy is logical. Not logical in this situation

        Liked by 1 person

      • Boo says:

        This man never took aspirin for a headache. He’s having a difficult time taking all this stuff.

        Now I’m praying for a peaceful dignified end. Seeing him in pain is killing me. He knows it and he’s trying.

        Liked by 1 person

      • fredrieka says:

        I am the same way. The peaceful end you hope for is in the regime hospice has set up. Find a way to encourage compliance

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

