Rough night? Oh ya….

It’s feeling like it’s time to start sorting Nick’s things. So last night I dug in. I had already done the top drawer of his dresser Sunday night. It was time to at least finish the dresser. So I started on the t-shirts, thermals and jeans.

And completely lost it.

Sorting through…..was a LOT harder than I thought. But I got the dresser emptied. I got the box from New Zealand sorted through. Papers, magazines, catalogs, ….and things with his handwriting on them. Sorted, saved or thrown away. I even started on the night stand.

I stood and looked at his glasses for the longest time. I didn’t give them to the undertaker because they were so beat up and scratched.  And I want to keep them.

For now.

my-bed

So it all ended up on my bed.

my-3-boxes

Or in boxes.

I had no choice but to finish before I could go to sleep.

First box on the left is for the grandkids to go thru. Full of white T-shirts, thermals and Jeans.

Second box is what I’ve started with his Ford T-shirts. After the kids go thru the box, the rest of these will be made into pillows and quilts for my kids and grandkids. His family has expressed NO interest in any of this. Nick’s step-kids and grandkids have. THEY have been here for me so they will be able to have what they want to remember Papa Nick. The others will get the few things Nick allocated for them and things they gave him I don’t want and KNOW they gave him. There is also a packet of photos. I found 3 rolls of film Nick never developed. One of those rolls goes to the child. I’m sure I’ll be talked about for not having these photos out at the wake. Even tho I just found them and just got them developed Aug 24th. Typical.

Third box is for Goodwill. The items in there hold no special meaning for me.

I have boxes in my living room with items I know Nick wanted certain people to have. Those will get delivered if his sister shows up on Saturday at Applefest where I’ll be having my corner booth as usual…… Otherwise I’ll be leaving them on his brother’s doorstep and they can deal with it.

I will be home tonight…..more sorting. As long as the wound is open, let it bleed so it can heal. I want to change things up in my bedroom and eventually move it upstairs. I want to paint the walls, move the bed, and I have a dresser that needs a new home. Kevin might come and move the garage stereo inside. I need some TUNES!! I find myself cranking the stereo in my car so I’d like to do that at home too.

Wednesday night….I think I can be home!! Oops……nope. Earn needs a dress…..See Saturday plans. So Laurie is bringing her to the mall. And I’ll be home late.

Thursday night, I’m meeting a friend for supper at the Mexican place on the south end of town. She and I have been wanting to get together for awhile now. Friday is a meeting in Arcadia for ISE and Earn, then the Homecoming Football Game.

Earn got asked to the Homecoming Dance Saturday night!! wooooooooooot!! My beautiful girl…. So when I get home from LaCrescent Saturday, she’ll have to be ready so I can run her into town.  Then I will have a night alone for the first time in a while. Oops no. Just saw the calendar. I have a wedding dance. I’ll be going. I need social interaction.

Next week I’m free till Friday night.I’m sure that will change as the week goes along. Going to #1 grandson’s homecoming game. Just found out that is the 30th. Man I love that kid. He gets more handsome by the day.

On a cool note, today on the way into town, there was a bald eagle along side the road disposing of a carcass. He didn’t take off this time. Just stayed there eating…Nice.

Y’all have a NICE day.

 

This entry was posted in Me. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Rough night? Oh ya….

  1. fredrieka says:

    love the fact your making quilts with memories

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

