A little stunned last night…..?

K and I were sitting on the couch last night watching Grace and Frankie. He had his arm around me and suddenly I noticed…..his skin is all the same color. I’ve been so used to seeing Nick’s arm with the splotches of color it was a bit strange to see K’s arm all one color…

Once again it hits me. He’s gone.

nicks-arm

Nick had a skin condition known as Vitiligo. Many times he was asked if he’d been in a fire. You can see in the photo above just how the skin tones differ. He had it over most of his body except his legs and face. It didn’t bother him. It didn’t bother me. It was just part of Nick.

“Vitiligo is a long term skin condition characterized by patches of the skin losing their pigment. The patches of skin affected become white and usually have sharp margins. The hair from the skin may also become white. Inside the mouth and nose may also be involved. Typically both sides of the body are affected. Often the patches begin on areas of skin that are exposed to the sun.”

This was just so odd to see an arm around me that was ‘normal’ that I just sat there and touched his arm. Over and over. With tears rolling down….. Like I was trying to make sure it was real…..?

This entry was posted in Me. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

