Still finding things that can

….knock me to my knees. On Monday, the weather was sposed to be nice enough for Joe to give me a ride on his motorcycle…..

So I packed jeans, a warm coat and went searching for gloves.

And found these….

Nick’s winter gloves…..he loved these things. They kept his hands warm.

I stood there and stared at them for a while. The tears came but not so heavily this time. I smiled. I could see him wearing them, losing them, bitching because he left them in my car….and my car was in town.

I put them back in the closet where they belong. And most likely will stay.

his-gloves

If any of you like the Eagles…this is the best album…

There is a song on it called “Love will keep us alive”

the_eagles_hell_freezes_over

It was our song. It fit us to a T.

“Love Will Keep Us Alive”

I was standing
All alone against the world outside
You were searching
For a place to hide
Lost and lonely
Now you’ve given me the will to survive
When we’re hungry, love will keep us alive

Don’t you worry
Sometimes you’ve just gotta let it ride
The world is changing
Right before your eyes

Now I’ve found you
There’s no more emptiness inside
When we’re hungry, love will keep us alive

I would die for you
Climb the highest mountain
Baby, there’s nothing I wouldn’t do

Now I’ve found you
There’s no more emptiness inside
When we’re hungry, love will keep us alive

[Solo]

I would die for you
Climb the highest mountain
Baby, there’s nothing I wouldn’t do

I was standing
All alone against the world outside
You were searching
For a place to hide
Lost and lonely
Now you’ve given me the will to survive
When we’re hungry, love will keep us alive
When we’re hungry, love will keep us alive
When we’re hungry, love will keep us alive

I listened to it on the CD in my car a few times and I was OK. But man, watching the DVD concert again…………brought back all the memories of that Christmas time in my living room when we watched it on PBS and ordered the VHS tape. I just sat there with tears rolling down my cheeks. This photo was taken around that time.
christmas-94
And now when I hear it on the radio? I sing along with tears sliding down.
I’m struggling with the loss of him.  And there is nothing anyone can do about it. It’s mine to work through and one day I will get better at dealing with him being gone. I have an awesome support system in place.
I don’t know what I’d do without them.

 

This entry was posted in Me. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

