God has him in his arms….

And I have him in my heart…..and in my soul….on my mind……and in my tears.

i-thought-of-you-today-but-that-is-nothing-new

I may have just realized why things have been so vivid the last few weeks. I started working with Nick January 23, 1993. Maybe that’s why all these memories are flooding back. I don’t recall the exact date I met him. I do recall what he looked like – my first impression. (This was the summer of ’92, before I started working with him.) I had a Jeep Cherokee at the time. I needed the back seat folded down to haul some donations to Preston. I couldn’t figure out how to do it. Never had a vehicle that you could fold the seats down and make it have more cargo space.

Anyway….I stopped in at Ken’s (an auto repair shop in town) and asked him if he had someone who could help me.

The next thing I know I’m watching this guy walk down the sidewalk towards me. He’s wearing a big shit eating grin and a pair of oversized coveralls. My first thought? Dopey from the 7 Dwarves. The pants legs covered his shoes and dragged on the cement. The sleeves were too long and flopped over his hands. I’m looking at him, giggling inside and thinking to myself……what the hell? He just kept smiling at me. I had no idea who he was…..but thought…hmmmmm cute too.

He showed me the loops I was to pull to put the back seat up and fold the backs down and I was on my way. I really don’t remember much about that day after that other than I made it to Preston to drop off all the donations for the flood victims and back in time to pick up Meg from her Pre-school.

I was friends with the secretary that worked there. She was to go on maternity leave and got Ken to hire me to replace her while she was gone. (She ended up not coming back and I was there for 2 1/2 years) Nick and I became good friends. I have some great memories of our time there. I especially remember the fireworks on the 4th of July, him looking up parts, when he told me in the parts room that he was ‘in this for the long haul.’

It’s OK though. It’s nice to be thinking of the good stuff instead of his last few weeks. It is still making things very rough but at least I’m seeing him healthy in my mind instead of the ravaged body he left behind.

I miss him beyond words…..we had such fun…..

~So today I leave you to ponder the following: A casual stroll through the lunatic asylum shows that faith does not prove anything.  ~Friedrich Nietzsche

This entry was posted in Me. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to God has him in his arms….

  1. Ronda says:

    ❤ ❤ ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. A Perfectmindstorm says:

    Aren’t you glad for memories though? In time, it will be those good memories that will be your comfort. The sad ones are going to fade away and on the rare occasion they pop up, they are much more bearable. At least that is how it is when I think of my mom. xoxo

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

