Bill ‘n’ Boo

I am beyond proud to say I know this man. He crawled into my heart back in May 2015 and made a home there. Bill is 95 years young and a WWII veteran. He flew the big cargo planes in Indochina and at the war’s end, flew our POW’s home.

Bill and Boo March 4 2017.jpg

His is an interesting story in that when he came home on leave one time, his parents introduced him to his new baby brother, Jack. Bill was 21 at the time and had no idea Jack was on the way. Jack and Bill are as close as two brothers can be. Jack is a Vietnam vet and I’m very proud to know him too. He met me at Bill’s and the 3 of us had a very nice hour of visiting.

Bill was sleeping when I walked in. I wiggled his toe, he woke up, looked up and got the BIGGEST smile. He always does. He likes seeing me walk in. I’ll be making plans to go up again in 3 or 4 weeks. Bill is beginning to fail a bit. And I want to see him as often as possible.

God I look as hungover as I felt….sheesh.

I spent the weekend with Jon at his house. Friday night some Smirnoff was consumed, memories shared, and I fell into bed and never moved all night. Wow…that felt good!! Saturday, up to see Bill, back to Pizza with T, then back to Jon’s house where I won a ROUSING round of Uno with him and the kids!! woooooooooooot!!! Considering I haven’t played in a few years……that was fun!

Sunday I took Jon out for breakfast. Daughter tagged along, son stayed home. It was a good breakfast, then I packed up and moseyed towards home. I stopped at my auntie’s crazy sister’s house for a visit. She’s always good for a laugh…or two…or three. BONUS!!! Auntie was there too!! We had a great visit…..E isn’t doing well. I wonder when I’m going to get THAT call.

Then I stopped by the cemetery.visiting Nick March 5 2017.jpg

I spent some time telling him the news of the g’kids and the kids. And how much I still miss him and always will. About how much I still love him and always will. I even yelled for a bit. I thought it was sposed to get easier. I’m not so sure it is.

My footprints. The only ones going up to his grave. I find that sad. No one but me and my family visits him.

have-a-nice-day

This entry was posted in Me. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Bill ‘n’ Boo

  1. fredrieka says:

    Bravo bless your heart

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

