21 months

I was email chatting with someone who comes into my work at the end of the day, and has become a joy to know. He makes me smile, laugh and usually doesn’t have to do or say much to make that happen. He just found out recently about my Nick. He offered his condolences via email and we started chatting about how much time we really do have. And what we SHOULD be doing with it.
He had a good piece of advice: “You never know about tomorrow. Just have to live and love everyday. Everybody takes it for granted and then reality sneaks up on you” ~EB
Once cancer hit, Nick and I had 21 months. Literally. Oct 22nd when the cancer diagnosis was confirmed to July 22nd when he died.
We packed a LOT of living in that last 21 months. Much of it should have been packed in the last 23 years. Much of our first 20 years was taken for granted. We thought we were young and invincible.
But we weren’t.
its-better-to-look-back
It’s amazing how your perspective on things changes when cancer, or any life threatening illness enters the picture. People scramble to get things checked off their bucket list when they should have been doing them all along. People visit family and friends and tell them how much they love and care about them when they should have been doing that all along.

I now tell my family and friends I love them one way or another.

And now a challenge.  Tell me in the comment section.

What will YOU do with YOUR  next 21 months?

It’s not as long as you think.

Believe me.

I lived it.

It FLASHED by in the blink of an eye.

blink of an eye

This entry was posted in Me. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to 21 months

  1. Dewy says:

    I don’t have a bucket list really . But one thing I’d do is go to see Paris 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  2. A Perfectmindstorm says:

    I am going to Washington, DC in two weeks, when I get back I will be heading out to Idaho in June for 16 days and then I will be going to Virginia in July to celebrate my 62nd birthday with my best friend. Possibly going back out to Idaho in the Fall and if not, I will just enjoy my home and my family like I always do. Next year, good Lord willing, I will be going to England for 10 days with my brother . I guess I am doing some travelling basically

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

