So …. my almost 3 year old phone

…………spent some time swimming yesterday. It didn’t ASK me first or I would have told it no.

S5.jpg

Amazingly, when Ken found it, it was still on! I just talked to Verizon and they said the little cover that goes over the charging ports almost always gets broken off. That’s how the water would have gotten in. SO BE MORE CAREFUL PEOPLE. Mine is broken off but Ken said he found it by the top right corner and when he brought it up out of the water, it was upright. That may be what saved it. I found the tiniest bit of water out of it when we pulled the battery out.

He found in the water under the dock. Just past where he found the phone, the lake bottom drops off.

Man I got lucky.

It’s sitting in a bowl of rice on my dash right now, hoping the sun’s heat helps to dry it out.

My text messages and voice mails from Nick are on that phone. I HOPE they backed up to google and cloud. I doubt it. Photos of him are also on there, hopefully I have most of them on Facebook, Dropbox, and this computer.

To lose my voice mails would be painful.

I put the battery in, booted it up, it came up fine, then started to fade to yellow. I pulled the battery immediately.  I’m sure it being almost 3 years old also has something to do with it, too. But I managed to get AW’s phone # off and sent him a text using a friends phone so …………

……..I am heading to Verizon tonight to deal with a new phone. Not like I had planned but whatever. Apparently the gods are against me. *sigh*

My camping went well even with the rain. It was a good time for me.

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

My camping spot

My dog crawled in and curled up

The view out the top of my tent.

And my fire.

It was so peaceful there.

Granted it rained. And everything got wet. But that’s not what made me mad.

Enjoying my fire

See how the grate you flip over the fire is cockeyed? Ya, I couldn’t get it to flip over to cook my bacon and eggs Sunday morning. So I left. It’s a great design and a good idea. They just need to make the loops on the grate larger so it won’t get stuck like this. You are sposed to be able to move it out of the way or over the fire for cooking. Get it a little sideways and it’s STUCK.  I needed a BFH to move that puppy and I didn’t have one.

Flicked a tick off my hand, then grabbed one crawling up my side. Two came off the dog. The skeeters were attacking en force. The deer flies weren’t TOO bad but one got my left ankle.

Anyway, I drove right to the campground. Which shocked me. It’s been awhile since Nick and I were there. My eyes started to leak as I looked around. Nothing has changed.  I even got the exact same spot we were in when Nick got down on one knee. Memories flooded back. All good, all making my eyes leak more, but I was smiling as I cried.

I took Jegs for a walk over to the beach area. Sat down at a picnic table and just stared at the little peninsula in the lake. Nick and I are lucky we didn’t get arrested but we kept a low profile while we were out there. It was fun. *smiles*Penisula

I never realized how close we were to the beach!!! Oh wow! heh heh heh…

I’ll be going back. When the weather is a bit better and I have my hiking boots on. I’ll go talk to him some more.

AW actually got the text from Al’s phone. He called my work phone and he’s laughing at me. Then the connection cut out.

ggggggggggggggrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr

Anyway. I had a good day yesterday. Went to a friend’s sister’s house and just relaxed. Talked with friends and people who are becoming like family to me.

It was nice.

Till the damn phone fell in the lake.

I’ll let you know tomorrow what I get. Hug to you all.

This entry was posted in Me. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to So …. my almost 3 year old phone

  1. Jim says:

    so di they salvage the memory card?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ronda says:

    Hugs back atcha! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Dewy says:

    Oh dear . Rice ?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

